Alumni recognized by CFAES Alumni Society

March 16, 2016

On March 4, 2016, four alums of the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership (ACEL) were recognized at the annual College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences (CFAES) Alumni Awards.

The CFAES Alumni Society hosted the annual awards program to recognize individuals who have made significant contributions through their careers.

Alumni from ACEL who were recognized include:

Dr. Wesley Budke
Meritorious Service Award


Dr. Ian Blount
Distinguished Alumni Award


Dr. Jack Elliot
Distinguished Alumni Award


Mr. Larry Lokai
Distinguished Alumni Award


If you know someone that should be nominated for an alumni award, see below for a description of the awards and the nomination form.

 Nomination Form

Individuals receive recognition in five categories:

  • Meritorious Award: The purpose of the Meritorious Service Award is to give public recognition to non-alumni and/or alumni of the college who have been singularly significant in the college’s quest for excellence.
  • Distinguished Alumni Award: The Distinguished Alumni Award gives public recognition to those who have brought distinction to themselves and the college at large through their participation, commitment, and leadership.
  • International Alumni Award: The International Alumni Award is presented to outstanding international agriculture alumni representing, supporting, and promoting the college and The Ohio State University around the globe.
  • Young Professional Achievement Award: The Young Professional Achievement Award recognizes alumni for their early professional accomplishments. This award provides recognition for these individuals and serves as a stimulus toward further efforts by younger alumni.
  • Outstanding Service to the Society Award: The Outstanding Service to the Society Award recognizes a supporter, alumni or non-alumni, of the CFAES Alumni Society and its programs and efforts to provide alumni with opportunities to interact with the society, the college, and the university.

Individuals who have received an award in one alumni award category are not eligible to receive the same award. Click the category names below to see past recipients.