ACEL alumni named finalists for Ohio’s Golden Owl Award

May. 5, 2020

Seven alumni from Ohio State’s Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership (ACEL) were named finalists for Ohio’s Golden Owl Award. 

In the second year of the award program, 10 teachers from Ohio were selected as honorees, each receiving a $500 price and entrance into the finalist selection state. This award is presented in partnership with Nationwide, Ohio Farm Bureau and Ohio FFA to shed light on the contributions of Ohio’s agricultural educators. They collected over 400 nominations from local students, fellow teachers, parents and community members.

Seven of Ohio’s 10 honorees have at least one degree in agricultural education from Ohio State: 

  • Christi Bachman ’89, Bloom Carroll High School
  • Nathan Birkhimer ’15, Fayetteville Perry High School
  • Hannah Everetts ’12, Edon Northwest School
  • Collin Gierke ’83, Global Impact STEM Academy
  • Sarah Lucha ’01, ’02 MS, South Central High School
  • Tyler Pope ’05, Buckeye Central High School
  • Jeremy Ryan ’11, West Muskingum High School

“It is evident that our alumni make an impact in their communities based on each of these individuals being nominated for this award,” said Dr. Scott Scheer, professor and interim chair of ACEL. “On behalf of the department, I congratulate them on their recognition and thank them for being mentors to their students, our Ohio State students and the example they set daily for the agricultural education profession.”

ACEL prepares communicators, educators and leaders in the food, agricultural, and environmental sciences to integrate research-based learning, practice and engagement, in ways that will advance positive changes that strengthen individuals, families and communities. For more information on the academic programs and research available in ACEL, or to donate to student scholarships, please visit