1. ACEL students named to CFAES Dean's List

    Jan 10, 2019

    During Autumn Semester 2018, 81 students from the Department of Agricultural Communication, Education, and Leadership were named to the College of Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences Dean's List.

    Congratulations to these students for their outstanding work in the classroom.


  2. Wilson completes internship with Ohio Farm Bureau

    Nov 27, 2018

    Haley Wilson, of New Lexington, completed an internship this past summer with the Ohio Farm Bureau Federation in Columbus, Ohio.

    During her internship, Wilson served as a lead intern, coordinating Ohio Farm Bureau's Land and Living Exhibit at the Ohio State Fair. This football-field sized interactive display was for visitors of the Fair to learn about the industries of agriculture and natural resources. She also hired, trained and managed a team of 25-30 young people that served as ambassadors throughout the fair and managed social media for the exhibit.

  3. Motter completes internship with Ohio State Fair

    Nov 26, 2018

    Abby Motter, of Ashland, recently completed an internship with the Ohio State Fair as a public relations and marketing intern in Columbus, Ohio.

    During her internship, Motter wrote news releases, contributed to social media content and worked to set up live broadcasts. During the Ohio State Fair, Motter served as the key contact to radio and television stations regarding their promotions and remote broadcasts at the fairgrounds. She participated in crisis Communication training and worked behind the scenes to ensure a successful 2018 Ohio State Fair.

  4. Walls completes internship with Monsanto

    Nov 21, 2018

    Kayla Walls, of Mendon, recently completed an internship with Monsanto as a production research assistant in Farmer City, Illinois.

    During her internship with Monsanto, Walls provided research support for Monsanto Production Research by collecting data on DEKALB corn trial plots. Some of this data included stand counts, tassel visibility and ratings, stalk height and ratings, and silk visibility and ratings. As an intern, she also provided a plethora of support through detasseling, spraying pesticides, and helping with pollination trials.

  5. Mensing completes internship with Farm Credit Mid-America

    Nov 20, 2018

    Micah Mensing, of Oak Harbor, recently completed an internship with Farm Credit Mid-America in Wooster.

    As a crop insurance intern with Farm Credit Mid-America, Mensing researched the tools available and being developed related to precision farming data and crop insurance. In addition to his research project, he shadowed many different roles within the organization and developed an understanding of how Farm Credit Mid-America plays a role in securing the future of rural communities and agriculture.

  6. Howell completes internship with Fulton County Extension

    Nov 19, 2018

    Alexis Howell, of Paulding, recently completed an internship with Fulton County Extension.

    During her internship, Howell worked with the three county educators and a variety of education programs, including On Farm Research, where she assisted with trial layout, data collection and processing and reporting, trained camp counselors and the completed the delivery of 4-H camps and coordinated the 4-H project judgings. 

  7. Beal completes internship with Kentucky Expo Center

    Nov 15, 2018

    Emily Beal, of Conover, recently completed an internship with Kentucky Expo Center in Louisville, Kentucky.

    During her internship, Beal was responsible for coordinating horse shows that occurred at the Kentucky Exposition Center, including the World’s Championship Horseshow. She completed tasks ranging from data input to creating a show bill, as well as serving an announcer for the Quarter Horse Show at the Kentucky State Fair.

  8. Weller completes internship with Sunrise Cooperative

    Nov 14, 2018

    Brittany Weller, of Bellevue, recently completed her summer internship with Sunrise Cooperative as an agronomy intern.

    During her internship, Weller learn more about the agronomy sector of the agriculture industry and how to apply it to her future career as an educator. Weller scouted fields, conducted tissue samples on crops and planted plots. She also attended grower insight days, which provided opportunities for local farmers to visit test plots and learn about trials performed by the co-op.

  9. Stinson completes internship with Penn State Extension

    Nov 13, 2018

    Sydney Stinson, of Amanda, recently completed an internship with the Penn State University Extension in Bellfonte, Pennsylvania.

    During her internship, Stinson assisted the 4-H Youth Development educator with social meida posts, Cloverbud camp, outreach projects at local festivals and fairs, creating award applications for youth recognition and staffing 4-H events and shows.

  10. Plahuta completes internship with Ohio Farm to School

    Nov 9, 2018

    Haley Plahuta, of Upper Arlington, recently completed an internship with the Ohio Farm to School program through Ohio State University Extension in Columbus, Ohio.

    During her internship, Plahuta promoted the National Farm to Cafetria Conference, which was held in Cincinnati, Ohio, wrote press releases, updated social media and created promotional materials.